What is the most precious Buddhist relic

Buddhist architecture - stupa / chorten

What is shown is a STUPA which usually houses the cremated remains or possessions that are considered sacred. In Sri Lanka we call it "The Dagaba" (from the Sanskrit Dhatu element, the component or the relic + Garbha - warehouse or repository). Dagaba has a pre-Buddhist origin and is a deeply respected or admiration for the symbol of the Buddhist creed. In the Sri Lankan version (the first picture in the operating room) it is covered with pure white lime plaster (it is not the 'white' that is obtained by mixing Rickette 'blue). When Buddhism was introduced in different regions, the basic architectural features of stupas were transformed into a variety of shapes that reflect the artistic expression of these cultures. In Sri Lanka there are five forms that are best known.

Of all the stupa / dagaba in the world, the most revered dagaba is the Ruwanweli-Saya, which was found in the historic city of Anuradhapura in Sri Lanka. It is also known as Mahathupa, Swarnamali Chaitya, Suvarnamali Mahaceti (in Pali), and Rathnamali Dagaba. According to the Buddha's Parinibbāna, his relics were kept and venerated in stupas. This summit for Buddhists around the world, the Ruwanweli Saya, contains most of the relics from the pyre of the sacred body of Buddha. According to the old Dhatuwamsa chronicle, one eighth of the Buddha's full-body relics were deposited in the stupa, making it one of the most valuable places of worship for Buddhists.

A great force is generated from this stupa, which is still visible today. The energy that radiates from within is associated with those who meditate around the Maha-Thupa. There is a legend that at the time when the Dhamma he preached is no longer heard, all the relics of the world will come to the Maha-Thupa and perform a body-form coming together. - a kind of "Yama Maha Pelahara". By the way ... 'Yama Maha Pelahara' - is a twin miracle, a power that the Buddha is said to have possessed to simultaneously bring out a jet of fire from one part of his body and a jet of water from another part is a power, such currents together from eyes To give up ears and nostrils.

The Ruwanweli Mahathupa is unique among all others because: a "dona" (one of eight parts) of the Buddha's relics is anchored in it; The site was specially dedicated and consecrated many generations earlier by Arahant Mahinda. the only stupa in which a bodhi tree is embodied; the special use of many materials that cannot be found in other stupas, such as B. Crystals, Metals; the special and conscious design of the base layers and the relic chamber; and the function of the crystal on the summit as a beacon.

All Dagaba / Stupa that are found in the world are intended to imitate a transition from the confusion of the world through stage by stage of awakening to a breakthrough into the "pure region" of the transcendent. The dageba (stupa) consists of six main parts.

Pinnacle (Kotha)
This symbolizes enlightenment. This is usually a metal top with a precious crystal or gemstone (chudamanikya) on top.

Parasol / conical tower (Kothkerella)
This symbolizes the nine levels of Dhamma - the eight levels of the path plus the Nibbhana (Navalokottara Sri Dhammaskanda). This is built on the Devatha Kotuwa. A crystal (chudamanikya) on a metal summit is placed on top of the tower to adorn it.

The Enclosure of the Gods (Devatha Kotuva)
This is a cylindrical neck built on the 'Hatharas Kotuwa'. Figures of deities are usually carved on the surface. The word means a place where the gods can stay.

Square housing (Hatares kotuwa)
This symbolizes the four noble truths. Relics are also anchored in this part.

Hemispherical dome (Gharbaya)
This symbolizes the whole of the Dhamma. The hemispherical dome is built on the three berms. A relic chamber (Dhathu Garbhaya) was built in the middle of the Dagaba. The relics of the Buddha are kept there. In the center of the relic chamber was a bo-tree made of precious metals and an image of the Buddha round, which were groups of figures depicting various events in the life of the Buddha.

Octagonal foundation (Atapattama)
This symbolizes the 8 noble way. This shape can only be found in some stupas.

The three berms or terraces (Pesa valalu)
This symbolizes the Seela, Samadhi, Pannna. A stupa consists of three such berms at its base. The three berms rising from the base gradually decrease in size.
The upper terrace (Uda maluva) represents the bhikku, the arahant
The middle terrace (Deveni maluva) represents lay disciples (upasaka / Upasika)
The lower terrace (Veli maluva) represents the devotees who have not yet come on the path.

The Buddhist temple is not complete without:
Stupa / dageba;
the actual Vihara / Image House;
a bodhi maluva or platform with or without changes;
a 'pansala' or priestly residence.
The 'Bana Maduva' or preaching hall is usually separate from the vihara itself.

Suminda Sirinath S. Dharmasena

It is good if you can add a picture. Perhaps this will also be an answer to this question.

Saptha Visuddhi

I wrote this in a hurry @Suminda Sirinath S. Dharmasena. I'm very busy today, but I just didn't want to pass this OP without saying anything. This topic is just right for me when I was studying architecture at the University of Moratuwa and the University of Toronto. & I will do that for the next 11 years until I retire. So I'll get into that tomorrow. Thank you for your support.

Suminda Sirinath S. Dharmasena

I think you could add how to keep dhatu in the pagodas which is part of the OP.

Saptha Visuddhi

@Suminda, when you check Assäsa sutta & Parama Assäsa sutta, give "äna" + "äpäna" or anapana another meaning. In July I will do a 14 day meditation retreat. This is where ANAPANA will do differently. Ven. Walasmulle Abhaya Thero will tell us that "assa / passa" or clearing (of the mind) is NOT directed to the breath, but to nibbhana. In the Mahasaccaka Sutta (MN36), “assa / passa” Buddha describes how he gave up the technique of “inhaling and exhaling” and moving on the right path. Try it out.